The Wagner Award

Award History

This award has been established in honour of Norman E. Wagner. Wagner held positions at Wilfrid Laurier University (1962-1978) and was President of the University of Calgary (1978-1988). He served the CSBS as Secretary and then as President in 1976. He was also instrumental in the reorganization of the Society and establishing the Canadian Corporation for the Study of Religion.

His early interest in applications of technology ranged from computer analysis of pottery to transforming thousands of records of professional societies’ membership and subscription records from card files into electronic form, to electronic typesetting, and the impact of the information age on education and society generally.


The award of $500 is announced each year at the CSBS Annual General Meeting.


This award recognizes and supports research initiatives that rely on the expertise and collaboration of one or more members of the CSBS and may include non-member experts from other disciplines. Projects that represent significant disciplinary innovation without direct collaboration of researchers will also be considered. Applications should include the following information:

  • A brief description of the research project and its significance
  • Names and institutional affiliations of participants, along with their expertise relevant to the project
  • Intended products of the research (publications, new course development, conference presentations)
  • Indication of how funding would facilitate the research

Selection Process

The Adjudication Committee will be appointed by the CSBS Executive with the Vice-President as Chair.


Nominators must be CSBS members. Self-nominations are acceptable. Nominations are made in the member login area of the CSBS website. The nomination deadline is January 15.

Previous Winners

  • 2024: Michael Johnson, for his digital humanities project, which will develop a new tool for reconstructing fragmentary Dead Sea scrolls by 3D modelling rolled scrolls in a digital environment
  • 2020: Tony Burke, for the web-based project e-Clavis: Christian Apocrypha.
  • 2015: Richard Ascough, John Kloppenborg, et al. for the website: 
  • 2014: Stanley Porter for the website:
  • 2011: Daniel Machiela and Andrew Perrin.
  • 2010: Philip A. Harland.
  • 2009: Tyler Williams.
  • 2006: Ken Penner, Ian Scott, and David Miller.
  • 2005: John L. McLaughlin.
  • 2004: Jean-Philippe Fontanille.
  • 2003: Mary Ann Beavis.
  • 2002: Richard Ascough.
  • 2001: Nicola Denzey.
  • 2000: Ehud Ben Zvi.
  • 1999: John C. Hurd.